Department of Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics

The Department of Diet Therapy Technology & Dietetics is affiliated to the College of Allied Medical Sciences, which was established in 1997, and includes the following departments: the Department of Medical Analysis, the Department of Audiology and Applied Speech, as well as the Zarqa University Center for Hearing and Speech, in addition to many specialized educational laboratories equipped with the latest educational aids: Microbiology laboratory, physiology laboratory, clinical and biochemistry laboratory, and scientific research laboratories.

Diet Therapy Technology & Dietetics is a modern academic program that aims to provide students with advanced knowledge in the fields of food and nutrition, excellence in building the scientific and applied capabilities of the department's graduates, and highly rehabilitate them in order to assist community members in preventing and treating diseases, and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The functional aspect of dieticians also includes education and counseling, in order to educate patients about how their diets (quantity and quality) affect their health and lifestyle.

Dietitians can also have a more exclusive specialization within their field, as nutritionists often specialize in children's diets, or patients with various eating disorders, or chronic diseases such as diabetes, kidney disease, blood pressure, obesity, heart disease and others.

Accordingly, the fields of work for graduates are wide, as some clinical nutrition experts and nutritionists work in the management of food service departments in large institutions, such as hospitals, health care centers, schools, or correctional centers, where these specialists have to plan healthy and balanced meals that meet the needs of individuals and groups, within specific budgets.

البريد الالكتروني  |  التسجيل الالكتروني  |  التعلم الالكتروني   (Moodle)  |  En MS Teams  | 

قسم تكنولوجيا التغذية العلاجية والحمية

يتبعُ قسم تكنولوجيا التغذية العلاجية والحمية كلية العلوم الطبية المساندة، التي تأسست عام 1997, و تضم الأقسام التالية : قسم التحاليل الطبية و قسم السمع و النطق التطبيقي وكذلك مركز جامعة الزرقاء للسمع و النطق بالاضافة الى العديد من المختبرات التعليمية المتخصصة والمجهزة بأحدث الوسائل التعليمية: منها مختبر الأحياء الدقيقة، ومختبر وظائف الأعضاء (الفسيولوجيا)، ومختبر الكيمياء الحيوية والسريرية، ومختبرات البحث العلمي.
لمحة عامة
تكنولوجيا التغذية العلاجية والحمية، هو برنامج أكاديمي حديث يهدف إلى تزويد الطلبة بالمعرفة المتقدمة في مجالَي الغذاء والتغذية، والتميز في بناء القدرات العلمية والتطبيقية لخريجي القسم، وتأهيلهم تأهيلًا عاليًا وذلك لمساعدة أفراد المجتمع في الوقاية من الأمراض وعلاجها، والمحافظة على نمط حياة صحي. ويشتمل الجانب الوظيفي لأخصائيي التغذية والحميات أيضًا على التثقيف والإرشاد، وذلك للقيام بتوعية المرضى بكيفية تأثير وجباتهم الغذائية (كمًّا ونوعًا) على صحتهم وأنماط حياتهم.
كما يمكن للمتخصصين في التغذية أن يتميزوا بتخصص أكثر حصرية داخل مجال عملهم، فأخصائيو التغذية غالبًا ما يتخصصون في حميات الأطفال، أو المرضى الذين يعانون من اضطرابات التغذية المختلفة، أو أمراض مزمنة كالسكري، وأمراض الكلى، وضغط الدم، والسّمنة، وأمراض القلب وغيرها.
وعلية فإن مجالات العمل للخريجين تكون واسعة، فبعض خبراء التغذية السريرية وأخصائيي التغذية يعملون في إدارة أقسام الخدمات الغذائية في المؤسسات الكبرى، مثل المستشفيات، ومراكز الرعاية الصحية، والمدارس، أو المراكز الإصلاحية، حيث يكون على هؤلاء الأخصائيين تخطيط وجبات صحية ومتوازنة، تلبي احتياجات الأفراد والجماعات، ضمن ميزانيّات محددة.